top of page

Poetry- In Search of Home by Mihaela Vasileva

When the day breaks,

a shy shadow awakes. 

I, its keeper, follow 

and my own guilt I swallow. 

I know from the morning light 

things must be mended and done right. 

I know in my soul that was once my own 

I am in search of a bright blue home. 


I had seen it in my dreams, 

its colour like teary streams. 

I feel its warmth as I pass through. 

I know I must stay, but I seemingly move. 


A heart is carried in the home, 

and in its tight dome 

it beats and beats the dreary walls 

and waits until I answer it calls. 


I am pushed into the open space 

where my arms are free yet lack grace. 

I am moved by the sound of running water 

and I look forward to see a mother. 

She beckons me to follow her, 

and I look around, just to be sure. 

I have lost enough in these deep lifeless places. 

Now, I've finally found my good graces. 


The home, bright and blue, 

was enough to carry me and you. 

From what I could tell, it was more than enough. 

It wasn't a trick; it was no bluff. 

But the shadow was restless and it wasn't pleased. 

"Leave now and go on," she evily teased. 

I couldn't do it, I paid her no heed. 

I didn't consider her, I had no need. 

For I had found my haven, good and secure. 

Nothing could destroy it, of this I was sure. 

Who would want to diminish a colour so bright? 

Who would waste away in the colourless night? 

I stay in the blue home filled with light, 

and in this conviction, I knew I was right.



bottom of page